Egaeus Press

Morbid & Fantastical Works

A Book of the Sea

A Book of the Sea


A collection of dark, strange or uncategorizable pieces for which the sea provides the great mystery; stories and poems which explore its pull on the human heart, its alienness, its treachery, its unfathomable vastness; and more than anything, what it makes us creatures - us unwelcome, gill-less land-dwellers - do, be, become.

The full contents are as follows...

I: Ligan
Others' Tears by David Yates
Waiting by Rosalie Parker
In The Hold, It Waits by Tom Johnstone
The Figurehead of the Cailleach by Stephen J. Clark
The Sorrows of Satan's Book by Karim Ghahwagi

II: Flotsam
The Storm Brood by Colin Fisher
By Severn's Flood by Jane Jakeman
Breakwater Lodge by Michael R. Colangelo
Dancing Boy by Colin Insole
Below Decks by Jonathan Eeds
The Final Flight of Fidelia by Albert Power

III: Jetsam
Withernsea by Martin Jones
Sailing to Trebizond by S.A. Rennie
The Damnation of Captain M’Quhae by Charles Schneider
From Whence We Came by Jonathan Wood
Some Pages from the Journal of James Morris, Founder, Sable Island Humane Establishment, 1801 by Tim Foley

IV: Derelict
Cut Through with Skeins of Shallow Light by Joseph Dawson
The Night They Came by D.F. Lewis
The Woman from Malta by George Berguño
The Lighthouse by Richard Sheppard
The Woman Who Walked in to the Sea by Steven Pirie

Edited by Mark Beech

The book has 320 pages; is a lithographically printed, sewn hardback with coloured endpapers. It is limited to just 400 copies.

ISBN 978-0-993527883.

It can be ordered now for £38.00, inclusive of postage worldwide.

A Book of the Sea

A Book of the Sea

A Book of the Sea

A Book of the Sea

A Book of the Sea

A Book of the Sea



Queries & correspondence:

Sign up for emails

We are also existent on Facebook